Leadership Team

Leadership Team

Kate Meghji
Chief Executive Officer

Kate Meghji directs the operation of HSVB’s 44,000+ square-foot nonprofit facility, its wellness clinic, and its two thrift shops as well as overseeing the organization’s many programs that serve to protect the animals of Indian River County.

Kate has extensive experience in the field of animal care and sheltering. She served as the executive director of the Lawrence Humane Society in Lawrence Kansas and was previously the executive director of Sinai Temple in Champaign Illinois, and shelter manager for the Champaign County Humane Society. Meghji holds an M.B.A. from University of Illinois in Urbana and a B.S. in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry from Evergreen State College in Washington.

Tracey Kinsley
Chief Communications Officer

Tracey joined HSVB in early 2019, and brings more than 20 years of public relations and communications experience to the organization. Prior to joining HSVB, Tracey worked in the healthcare field for more than 13 years, at both the VNA and Treasure Coast Hospice, where she managed the Communications Departments. Her background also includes extensive knowledge of non-profit management and public speaking.

Tracey has been a resident of Indian River County for more than 35 years, and is a graduate of East Carolina University. 

Board of Directors

Susan Schuyler Smith, President
Wendy Trimarche, Past President
Rob Kusch, Vice President
Kathryn Barton, Treasurer
Rosalen E. Cline, Secretary

Members: Eric C. Barkett, Janis Christensen, Jill Collinson, Anne Dunwoody, William S. Frates II, Gena K. Grove, Christine Hammarskjold, Kari Mason, Mary Catherine Morton

Advisory: John Clark, DVM, Concie Fowler, Barbaralee Monday, Margaret Norris, Susan van der Stricht


Frank M. Spitzmiller, II, President
Warren Schwerin, Vice President
William Hudson, Treasurer
Carol Twyman, Secretary

Members: Kathryn Barton, Samuel F. Beach Jr., Jan Christensen, Charles (Chip) Cruice, Christopher Johns, Dale Keyser, Jeff Powers, Andrew Sowers, Wendy Trimarche, Carol Twyman, Maria Whittle, Betsy Woodruff, Kate Meghji, CEO